McPherson’s All State Musicians

On January 28th and 29th twenty students will be representing the McPherson High School and the McPherson Middle School at the Kansas Music Educators Conference. These All-State musician groups include the KMEA All-State Band, KMEA All-State Choir, and KCDA All-State Treble Choir. The All-State Band will perform at the concert hall on Saturday 29th at 3:00 PM, the All-State Choir performs at the convention hall on Saturday the 29th at 11:30 AM, and the KCDA Treble Honor Choir will perform at the concert hall on Friday the 28th at 4:45 PM.

KMEA All-State Band contestants involve: Sydney Myers-Bb Clarinet, Meghan Monroe-Tenor Saxophone, Kaytlynn Kuder-Trumpet, Wesley Wurm-Trombone, Matthew Powers-Euphonium, and Kail Stockham-String Bass. KMEA All-State Choir contestants involve: Tessa Boesker-Alto 1, Pierce Hamma-Bass 1, Lily Parker-Alto 1, Analicia Rocha-Alto 2, Avery Strathman-Alto 2, Josie Strathman-Soprano 1, and Kaliah Tice-Alto 2. KCDA All-State contestants involve: Tyla Lang, Leila Carrothers, Reanna Eilrich, Jordan Hancock, Keanna Sullivan, Mallory Holmes, and Lauren Newcom.

Junior, KMEA All-State Band contestant Megan Monroe, said, “This conference is for all the musicians that have auditioned from around the state and have gotten the honor of getting in. Once I get the music for state, I will be preparing those pieces. I’ve been playing saxophone for about five years now.”

If you see one of these contestants around McPherson or at the McPherson High School or Middle School, be sure to wish them good luck on their performances. These students have worked very hard to get this opportunity and some recognition would definitely help.